Bookish Corner

Book Blogger Hop: February 7th – February 13th

This is my first time participating in the Book Blogger Hop. If you want to participate, make sure to check out the rules.

Question

What were some of the most memorable books you read as a child? What made them memorable?

Answer

Ohhh I love this question! 😍 I used to read a lot when I was little. Every year my mom would take me to the Book Fair and I would get so many books 📚 I distinctively remember reading “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I was too little to fully comprehend the importance and meaning of the story. However, deep down I always knew it was special. It is one of those books that you have to read multiple times in your life because there will always be something that you can learn from it.

“The Little Mermaid” by Hans Christian Andersen is one of my favorite books of all times. I remember reading it multiple times before bed and falling continuously in love with the story 🥰 Even though the original story is darker than the Disney version, I still enjoyed it. I felt mesmerized by the tale and for a couple years I really wanted to be a mermaid ❤️ I think it was the fact that it was such a unique story and I hadn’t read anything like it, that made it memorable. Even today, as an adult, I love everything related to “The Little Mermaid” and I think is because in some way or another it makes me feel connected to my childhood 🧜🏻‍♀️.

Bookish Corner

My TBR List-Voting Results

So sorry for taking so long to write this post. Exam week at University… you guys can imagine 😅

Last saturday I picked the three books below and I asked you guys to vote on which book I should read next. Thank you so much to everyone who voted!

The winner is…

Book Cover taken from GoodReads

Have you read this book? Let me know in the comments!

Bookish Corner

Weekly Quote – February 12th

This is a new feature where each week I will add a quote to my blog. It will be from a book I’m currently reading, one I just finished or an old favorite.

This week’s Quote is from a book I want to read:

“If I have learned anything in this long life of mine, it is this: in love we find out who we want to be; in war we find out who we are.”

― Kristin Hannah, The Nightingale

This sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it!

Now it’s your turn! Let me know in the comments what’s your favorite quote of the week.

Bookish Corner

My Favorite… Bookish Couple

After my week long hiatus, I’m back with a new bookish meme. This is my first time participating in the “My Favorite” bookish weekly feature. If you are interested in participating make sure to check out BookishlyRebecca‘s blog.

This week’s prompt is about your favorite bookish couple. I keep thinking that I have too many favorites, so come to think about it, maybe this is not the right bookish meme for me 😂

Anyways, if I had to decide I would say that my favorite bookish couple is Katy and Daemon from the “Lux” series. I know, I know… you are probably thinking, “wait, isn’t’ this book from like… 2012!”, and you are totally right. However, I know that as a fellow book lover, you understand how some stories stay rooted in our hearts for many, many years ❤️

I read this book back in 2015 and I fell in love with the story. I remember loving Daemon’s sexiness and the playful banter between our main characters. It was a fun and cute story, and when I read the rest of the series it became one of my favorites.

Like I said before, there are so many books that I have read since then, but for some reason I always come back to the “Lux” series or “Anna and the French Kiss”… oohh, I loooooved that book. (But I had to pick one for this post so I went with “Lux”... see, I’m horrible at making decisions)

Do you have a favorite bookish couple? Let me know in the comments!

Bookish Corner

My TBR List-Let’s Vote

It’s my first time participating in My To-Be Read List hosted by Michelle @ Because Reading.

Make sure to check out the rules here, if you want to participate.

Ok… so it seems I need some help deciding what to read next. I have narrowed it down to the three books listed below.

Please help me choose!

Next saturday I will let you know the winner.

“Spin the Dawn” by Elizabeth Lim

Book Cover taken from GoodReads

Synopsis taken from GoodReads:

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

“Loveboat, Taipei” by Abigail Hing Wen

Book Cover taken from GoodReads

Synopsis taken from GoodReads:

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

“A Throne of Swans” by Katharine Corr, Elizabeth Corr

Book Cover taken from GoodReads

Synopsis taken from GoodReads:

In a world where the flightless are ruled by those who can fly…

When her father dies just before her birthday, seventeen-year-old Aderyn inherits the role of Protector of Atratys, a dominion in a kingdom where nobles are able to transform at will into the bird that represents their family bloodline. Aderyn’s ancestral bird is a swan. But she has not transformed for years, not since witnessing the death of her mother – ripped apart by hawks that have supposedly been extinct since the long-ago War of the Raptors.

With the benevolent shelter of her mother and her father now lost, Aderyn is at the mercy of her brutal uncle, the King, and his royal court. Driven by revenge and love, she must venture into the malevolent heart of the Citadel in order to seek the truth about the attack that so nearly destroyed her, to fight for the only home she has ever known and for the land she has vowed to protect.

Written in rich detail and evocative language, this is the start of an irresistible, soaring duology about courage, broken loyalties and fighting for your place in the world.

Time to Vote!

Let me know in the comments what book do you think I should read next?